In the past week in science, we have had numerous decisions about genetics and heredity. In a recent activity we have put genetics and probability to the test. The activity is called spudoodle, in this activity students were given two sets of genetics….one from a mother and one from a father. Students were then asked to use the mom and dad genes to create an offspring. This offspring of these two sets of genes were created our spudoodles. Each spudoodle contained traits that were passed on from the parents…some were dominant traits and others were recessive. Please see the document above for a full explanation of the activity.

Each spudoodle contained a unique combination of traits that included hair, nose, spine, ears, mouth, eyes, and tail. Each group created their own offspring (spudoodle) from the genetic combination of each parent that was passed on to the offspring using every day items to construct them. Items they used included:

  • Potatoes = Body
  • Toothpicks = Hair
  • Pushpins = Nostrils
  • Pipe Cleaner = Tail
  • Paperclips = Feet
  • Cork = Ears
  • Coins = Mouth
  • Marshmallows = Dorsal Spine

In addition, students were asked to identify the genetics traits that were dominant and recessive by analysis of the probability of each genetic trait. Above is a slideshow of the spudoodles created by my first and third hour science classes.

Mr. McClung

9 thoughts on “Spudoodle & Genetics”

  1. What a great project! I love the hands on stuff. I hope I am able to incorporate some into my classroom when I finish school. I really enjoyed seeing the pictures of the Spudoodles. They were very creative. Please pass on my kudos to your class.

  2. I loved this project! I’m really impressed by how creative all of the potato babies were. Your class did a really great job. I would love to use this project in my classroom one day. Great job everyone!

  3. This project is awesome! The idea of using spuds for genetics is novel. Hopefully my students will have a better understanding with the hands on approach offerred.

  4. Thank you for visiting my blog. My students and really enjoyed this project. Right after making the baby spuds, each of my students put a photo on their Facebook. One student still has her spud in her refrigerator. 🙂 The most exciting thing,is to hear the students now working genetics in their heads.

    Thank you so much for sharing this project with it. My up coming class for next year, is already looking forward to it.

    Mrs. Goodrich

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *