Lesson One – Old Friends

commentsThis past Tuesday our class blog received a slew of hits from some familiar faces. The hits I was receiving were from many of my former students from Noel, Missouri. They were visiting as apart of a #comments4kids assignment given to them by their teacher Mr. C. It was great to hear from some students and I wanted to let them know that I really appreciate their kind words.

Lesson Two – I’m So Done With…

Ahhhh….yes, our favorite example of speaking up.

Every Monday my students and I take a couple of minutes to speak our minds and talk about what really bugs us. We call this “I’m so done with”, and it serves as our weekly therapy session. This week we were able to apply this practice to our Arkansas History class.

Recently my Arkansas History students have been studying the various levels of government within our state and our representation at each level. We discussed how a representative is there to serve as a voice for the people that he or she is elected to represent. Being the voice of the people, it is important that these officials know the opinions and concerns of their concerns…and that’s just what we did. Each student was asked to write a letter to a city or state official about their issues.

Right now we are in the rough draft phase of this process…more updates and examples of student work to come soon.

Lesson Three – I’m With CoCo

Conan O’Brien is easily one of my favorite TV personalities. I have been watching his late night talk show ever since I was ten years old and I still have fond memories of staying up late in the summer to watch his show with my big sister. There has been no shortage of headlines this week about the current situation between Conan, Jay Leno, and NBC…and this huge mess that NBC has been created will ultimately end this Friday night with Conan’s last tonight show appearance. While I’m sure that this will not be the last that we will hear of Conan O’Brien, it is still unfortunate that Conan has been thrown curb and will likely not be heard from for a few months. To sum it up….I’m with CoCo

Mr. McClung

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *