Lesson One – Standardized Testing

standardized-testing1Today is the last day of 8th grade benchmark testing! For the entire week our students have been taking test in the subjects of math, reading, writing, and language. I approach the week of testing with the same enthusiasm that the majority of our students do…it’s not a fun week at all and the time that we are actually in class not testing it is almost impossible to do anything that is constructive because our kids are so antsy from being in testing all morning. The only good thing about benchmark testing is that it only comes once year and I personally am glad that next week we will be able to return to some sort of normalcy at school.

Lesson Two – Stay Positive

cdnet.myxer.comAs indicated by lesson one, I’ve been a little bit grumpy this week. Testing and rowdy kids have caused me to be in a bit of a funk this week…and I’m not the only one who has been in this funk this week. Our kids have had their entire week turned upside down because of testing and as a result they have become rowdy and a bit whinny and grumpy as well. With the end of the school year insight, it’s very important for myself and my students that we stay positive and finish the school year on a high note.

Lesson Three – Tired of the Lies

So apparently there is a rumor circulating around the school…yesterday I was informed by several students yesterday that the word on the street is that I spray tan. Yes, I said spray tan. For the record, I have never spray tanned in my life. In fact, I’ve used a tanning bed one time in my life…which means my tan is 100% natural. It is worth noting that it is track season as well, which means I’m spending at least 2-3 hours a day outdoors. One more time, let’s be very clear…I do not spray tan, no orange tone, no artificial color…nothing.

Mr. McClung

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *