Lesson One – Let’s Take a Trip

As summer merciful comes to an end, I thought it would be appropriate to take a little bit of time to reflect on my summer.

I traveled a lot this summer…during the course of the summer I took trips to Europe (Prague, Vienna, and Budapest), Nashville, San Diego, and of course all of the great state of Arkansas. With all of this traveling, rest has come at a premium this summer for sure. I was definitely excited to see parts of the world that I have never seen before, but I’m definitely more appreciative of the down time spent on my couch after a long and weary summer of traveling.

Lesson Two – Run Much?

This summer we were able to fully implement a summer running program for our cross country team and had great success doing so. Starting as soon as school was out, we began running three times a week early in the morning. Students turned up all summer long to attend practices and really logged some quality miles in the process. This entire experience will be so beneficial to our program as we move into the 2011 XC season and should pay huge dividends for us.

Lesson Three – Study Up

Part my traveling this summer was business related; in my trips to Nashville and San Diego I attended workshops that focused on using high quality teaching/learning strategies to effect student performance. These workshops were not only beneficial in the fact that they gave me high quality strategies that I can now use in class, but they also helped me get my mind right when it came to getting ready for school to start back up again. After attending these workshops I feel re-energized and ready to take on the new school year.

Here’s to a great school year!

Mr. McClung

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *