Lesson One – We Got Spirit

Game week is finally here for us here in Fayetteville. Today our football teams will be playing their first game of the season and the University of Arkansas will be hosting their first game of the year as well. Fayetteville really comes alive around the start of football season and with junior high, high school, and college ball kicking off this weekend, everyone around school is ready for the start of the season.

Lesson Two – Settling In

We are now three weeks in to the school year and the new is starting to wear off a bit…which isn’t always a bad thing. Things are starting to settle down a little bit and I’m starting to get to know my kids fairly well. We are also having our first quiz of the year today as well…another sure sign of settling in.

Lesson Three – Tank Tops…The Kids Love Em’

Geeking the tank top movement with Cowboy Joe.

I learn a lot of things from my kids on a daily basis, but within the past year I’ve noticed a trend that is interesting to me and also cool at the same time. If you’re a child of the 80’s/90’s, like myself, you should understand the coolness of tank tops…and if you don’t, act like you know. I remember tank tops being very popular and cool way back in the day; however, like all worthwhile trends the day of the tank tops were numbered. Until now.

At some point someone decided that it would be appropriate to bring back the tank top and reintroduce it to a new generation of kids or are dying to let their bare arms flow in the breeze. My students have been wearing tank tops like crazy and have even buying tank tops to represent their school. Notice in the picture above that I’m wearing a Woodland Cowboys track tank. These tanks are the old uniforms for our track team that are no longer in use, so I decided to sell them to the kids and raise a little bit of money for our track program. This has been an unbelievable hit with the kids and I think we can all understand why. Tank tops are just cool. Period.

Lesson Four – Early Out

I will be heading out for an early start to my Labor Day weekend. I will not be at school on Friday and school will not be in session on Monday to observe the holiday. Have a fun/safe weekend everyone.

Mr. McClung

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *