Lesson One – Meet The New Boss

“You know, the camera adds a couple hundred pounds”

So I decided that I would like to continue with my usual lessons learned, but post them every other week instead of weekly. With that said I do have a few quick observations from my first two weeks of being an assistant principal. First of all I am very tired at the end of the day, but it’s a different kind of tired that I experienced with teaching. With teaching I felt like I was running all over the place trying to keep up with my lesson planning and coaching as well. While I am still running as an administrator, it’s not quite the same. I am trading the long nights of practice, games, and lesson planning for longer days. I get to school early and leave late and still don’t quite feel like I have enough time in the day to meet all of my duties…but I suppose that is par for the course.

Lesson Two – Can You Open This?

Each day during lunch time, you can find me posted up in the cafeteria performing my daily lunch duty…yay! One observation that I made very quickly was that most students in the lower grade levels (K-2) really struggle opening the packaging that their food comes in. Emphasis on struggling. Through-out the day I am asked to open at least a couple dozen containers/wrappers for children. I never learned this in the Ed Leadership program.

Lesson Three – Keeping Tabs

This week has been really cool for a couple of reasons. 1) I am finally starting to feel like I know what I am doing in my new role…meaning I’m starting to form a routine. 2) I have been fortunate to keep some of my Woodland connections still alive. This week alone I have had two former students ask me to be a guest at two upcoming Woodland events and I have been invited to help the AVID program at my former school with some upcoming training. While I am very excited about the fact that Leverett is starting to become my home away from home, I’m also very happy that folks from Woodland are reaching out to me as well.

Mr. McClung

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *