Lesson One: – 10

acttemp_600x405This morning I wake up to probably the coldest weather I have ever experienced….-10 wind chill. I realize that about 85% of the United States are in the middle of this arctic chill that we are experiencing right now in Arkansas but I don’t think I can handle much more.

Lesson Two: Bad Christmas Presents

Christmas is always a memorable experience….sometimes it may not be a pleasant memorable experience but memorable at best. This week my students and I discussed bad Christmas presents throughout history, and I shared with them my story about the rock tumbler I received one Christmas. I was about 11 or 12 and at the age where parents are not quite sure what to buy you anymore….toys are no longer cool and your not quite into clothing at this point.

For those of you not aware of what a rock tumbler is, it is basically a container that you fill with a set of rocks and a “secret” mixture then place on a motor that spins (or tumbles) the rocks for about two weeks. After the end of the two weeks, you then take your rocks and rinse and repeat with another “secret” mixture….for another two weeks. At the end of a month you have nice pretty rocks that you are not quite sure what to do with….turns out they are great throwing rocks. Can you beat this bad Christmas present? If so, leave us a comment.

Lesson Three: BCS = Anti-Climatic

With last night’s BCS national champion game marking the end of the college football season, a very familiar feeling has set in with me and that is one that leaves me feeling like the college football season has mercifully come to a anti-climatic end once again. The BCS (“the perfect system”) has produced two undefeated teams (that will not play each other), and “memorable” bowl match-up such as Georgia Tech v. Iowa….as much as I love college football, after the whole BCS mess is over I feel a little bit cheated as a fan. Boooo BCS booooo.

Mr. McClung

One thought on “Lessons Learned”

  1. I’ve never been unlucky enough to receive a really bad Christmas gift, but I remember one Christmas my Dad gave my Mum an ironing board. Let’s just say it didn’t really go down all that well! Hmmm… I wonder if this is part of the reason they are no longer married 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *