Caden & Gaddy explaining our lab activity from today.

Today in class we continued our conversations about currents and creating circuits. Today we explored what type of materials serve as good conductors and what materials do serve as good insulators. Students were asked to create a circuit, much like the one from last week, then use one of three materials to continue the electrical circuit. The three materials used were a piece of wire, rubber tubing, and mechanical pencil led. The video above is a couple of my students explaining what exactly it was that we were testing.

As you may notice, these two boys have a hard time taking things serious…and trust me they took plenty of takes to make this one video. Above is one of those outtakes, enjoy.

Mr. McClung

4 thoughts on “Insulators v. Conductors”

  1. Mr. McClung,

    My name is Brittani Milligan and I am a student at the University of South Alabama. I am currently taking EDM 310 at the university, which is a course on media in Elementary schools. I just wanted to say that I absolutely love your use of technology in the classroom. I believe using technology in this way truly benefits the students. Like in this video the students are documenting their project and even thought they are laughing and cracking up they are learning. I love seeing children who have fun in the classroom. So many children these days are too scared of being wrong to ever speak up, and thats sad to me. I really enjoyed this video and I myself feel like I have learned from it.

    Also if you would like to see the blog I posted for my class about this video you can find it at: milliganbrittaniedm310.blogspot.com

    Thanks,
    Brittani Milligan

  2. Hey guys! My name is Devin and I’m a student at the University of South Alabama. I am taking a course about media in the classrooms and I just wanted to see what your class was up to. It is really neat being able to see into your lessons and what projects y’all are working on! Keep up the good work!

    If you would like to visit my blog you can go to http://RichardsDevinedm310.blogspot.com and check it out!

    I look forward to seeing more videos from your class!

  3. My name is Donte and i attend the University of South Alabama and our class has been watching ya’lls vidoes.I’ve always liked hands-on activities over reading lessons in books. Glad there are students enjoying school as much as you guys. I look forward to future experiments.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *