messBig things are happening in my room this week…today we continued our work with salt dough as we got a little hands on today. After letting our dough sit over night, this morning it was ready to mold into the state of Arkansas. Students were asked to take their dough and mold it into the six geographic regions of Arkansas. As you can see from the picture above, some dough came out better than others…

In the video above, you can see Smardo and Xander take their dough and begin to mold it into the state of Arkansas. A little bit of background knowledge for this video, they first traced an outline of Arkansas onto their black board and then transferred their dough over…check out their video of their explanation of what’s going on.

And of course, it wouldn’t be a salt dough post without a word form John and Jake. In the video above, they explain the purpose of this entire experiment we are doing. Give it a listen and don’t stare too hard at their salt dough map.
arkansasAfter working our dough over and giving it some TLC, it all worked out fine in the end. The picture above is the finished project from day two of our salt dough lab. Notice that the map that these students created represents the state of Arkansas well and has all six regions clearly outlined according to their geographic features. On Wednesday, we will continue this lab as we put the last piece of the puzzle together…paint. We will paint our maps and I’m sure that it will be messy as well.

Mr. McClung

2 thoughts on “A Big, Salty, Doughy, Mess…”

  1. I think that whoever did this Arkansas map, should win something. But thats just my opinion.

  2. Mr. McClung,
    I think your students did an excellent job! This project looked messy but fun! The students looked like they were learning but having a blast also. The students not only had to trace Arkansas but they had to include the Ozark Mountains, River Valley, Crowley’s Ridge, Ouachita Mountains, Mississippi Delta and the coastal plain. I would love to see the finished project when it is painted! I will go look for it because this would be something I would like to do with my students in my classroom. I would not do the six geographic regions of Arkansas because I hope to teach 1st or 2nd grade but I could think of some other lesson plan we could use the dough for. I looked at the post before this one to get the recipe ( 170 mL flour, 100 mL water and 170 mL salt) so I can have it on hand. I think this was fantastic lesson plan. Keep up the good work!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *