As the school year is winding down to its end, Mr McClung has asked us to write a blog post on one of our fondest memories of the school year. And to me, there is one that stands out far beyond all the rest. And it is a truley amazing memory, that me, and everyone else on our basketball team will never forget.

In eigth grade (as I am) there is nothing more important to me than sports. Sports are just basically my world. And I am 6’4” so basketball has always kind of been a sport I have always been interested in and played. This year however, myself and two other 8th graders got the privledge to “play up” and play on the 9th grade basketball team as an 8th grader, which was a big deal and pretty cool. Our 9th garde team also was pretty much amazing. We were really really really good! And the addition of Mitch, Luke, and myself playing up just gave us more depth and made us even better.

One thing about our team that we had and nobody else in the conferece or the region had, was our unbelieveable heigth. Our center was 6’7” our power forward was 6’5” we had four posts who didn’t start who were 6’4” 6’4” 6’2” and 6’1”. And we had more than one guard who were above six foot…and this scared every other team that we faced, because they were all at our shoulders and we were just bigger.

Our team went undafeated, killing practically everybody in our path. We were only the second team in the schools fifty year history to finish undafeated and win regionals and conference championships in the same season..it was truley amazing! I never pictured myself playing up on the 9th grade team when I first came to tryouts as a puny little 7th grader in April, but now I am glad that I did. And nothing is ever going to sound better to me then the sound of the “Undafeated” chant we got after regionals..it will stick with me forever and it was truley amazing!

Andrew P.

One thought on “Fifty Years….Only Two Remain”

  1. Andrew,
    Excellent post! Your thoughts were communicated very clearly and I enjoyed reading about your incredible year in basketball. I have been teaching junior high students since 1997 and have NEVER taught a 6’4″ 8th grader; you were made for basketball.
    Your post was pleasant to read primarily because of your varied sentence starters. So many young writers begin every sentence with “I”, but yours were interesting and showed great communications skills. Good luck with future writing and shooting!

    Kimberly Tharp
    University of South Alabama
    EDM 310
    My Blog

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *