untitledHistory and My Story is maintained by Ms. Buell who teaches 9th grade world history at Weymouth High School in Massachusetts. Ms. Buell is a self proclaimed story teller that enjoys telling a wide variety of stories that include very interesting takes on current events and issues in education…such as her latest post. In her latest blog post she tackles the issue of what is acceptable to ban in public schools. She focuses on a story of a teacher in New Jersey and his struggles with his school district banning Silly Bandz in school. Her take is very interesting and provides great food for thought on the issue of acceptable banning of trends in school districts. Check out her latest blog post and other entries from this Massachusetts teacher and leave a comment for her and students.

Mr. McClung

One thought on “Blog Check – History and My Story”

  1. Mr. McClung,

    I read both yours and Ms. Buell’s post. I believe it is an empowerment thing for people to band something. Not because it really is a bad thing, but because they can. I agree with Ms. Buell that silly bands and cigarettes should not be under the same category.

    The teacher in my sons’ K-5 class last year asked that they not wear them, but I believe it was distracting to them. They were only 5. Although, I do not believe an older student who will leave them alone should be band from it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *