As the school year starts to slowly wind down, so does our grass competition in science. A few weeks back my students started a class competition to see who could produce the best soil to support growth of grass. Students were given the option to use top soil, humus, sand, and gravel to complete their growing conditions.

Tuesday marked the end of our competition and after a long two weeks of growing my students reaped the fruits of their labor. Many students reported moderate growth of their grass while others reported a wildly successful growth of 4-5 inches of grass…as seen in the photos above. At this time it is worth noting that while I gave each group of students to build their soil however they pleased, I also gave them full responsibility of watering the grass. Which explains the few soil cups that looks bare and flooded.

This competition fit into our last unit of student which was soil conservation in which we learned what exactly makes for good soil. Each group did a great job and really came up with some creative planting techniques. Congrats to all the winners from each class, well done.

Mr. McClung

One thought on “Grass Competition Conclusion”

  1. Hi!
    My name is Shoronda Charles, and I am s student at the University of South Alabama. I am in Dr. Strange’s EDM 310 class this summer. I must say that I like this competition. I feel as if it applies to life as well. As students, or individuals, we are given the opportunity to make all of the choices that are related to our own success. While some decisions take more “babysitting” than others (knowing when to water the grass and knowing when it’s been enough), the choices all belong to us. I like the fact that the students were allowed to be responsible for every detail, even down to the soil. I think this was a great competition! Great job!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *