knock it downMy first hour students helping me take down my bulletin boards.

This is it, today is officially our last day of school here at Woodland Jr. High for the 09-10 school year…and of course I have a few things to say before I start to set sail for the summer break. First of all I would like to thank all of my students, this year was truly a experimental year for me (as most are) as this was my first opportunity to teach Jr. High students…and every single one of you blew my expectations out of the water. I truly had some of the coolest students this year and I thank you guys making it a great year.

Next up are the parents…when I started here last fall I couldn’t have imagined the support level that the parents have shown while I’ve been here. From the PTO lunch-ins and treats to the help for our Race for The Cure fundraiser, you guys have been a huge help and have made my life as a teacher that much easier. Thank you.

To all my fellow teachers, thank you so much for the support you have shown me as well. I have a really awesome support system that is full of very intelligent teachers that hail from various places all across the world. From the building teachers that have helped me great through rough patches this year, to my old friends from other schools and other countries. You guys are beyond a doubt the most awesome group of educators around.

Lastly to my friends and family, this year has been a great one teaching but has had its tough times as well and if not for your support and encouragement this school year would have been very sub-par. My wife, my sister, my mother, and my nieces and nephew you guys are my inspiration.

As for blog posting, this will be my last regular post for the school year. I will enjoy my summer vacation and take a bit of a break from blog posting, with the exception of a few random blog post here and there (what I learned this year, year two and At The Teachers Desk). Thanks to everyone that takes the time to read the work that my students and I post on our blog…by the way, the fact that people out there actually take the time read what I have say really blows me away sometimes, so thank you all for reading and we’ll see you again in the fall. Take care everyone.

“There is so much joy in what we do up here, and I would like to thank each one of you for being here to share that joy with us.”

– Craig Finn, The Hold Steady

Mr. McClung

8 thoughts on “Saying Goodbye…For Now”

  1. hello! I was on my school e-mail and your blog was featured in the e-mail I got. Well actually I am a 8th grade student in Doha, Qatar and have just read your blog and my teacher Ms.Rumfrod does the same thing with us! rumfordwriters.edublogs.org
    Check it out! Have a great day
    Time-7:26 <– Doha Time 🙂
    -Maham
    ps: Could you check out my blog please!? Thank you so much!

  2. Congratulations on another year of brilliant blogging! It has been great to see you make the move to students creating a lot of the content on your site. This is a move I’m still struggling with. I’m not sure if it is a time management thing or a control thing! Enjoy your break.

  3. I’m gonna miss you Mr. McClung! You were a great teacher. The 8th graders next year will be lucky to have you.

  4. G’day!

    Are you American?
    Because it is not the end of the school year, here in Adelaide. We are 3 weeks off finishing our 2nd term, or 1st semester. Kool blog. I like it how (seeing all the dates) the blog has been kept up to date.
    Will this blog be continued on? Or will it be deleted?

    Rachster 😀 😉 😀

    1. Hello there Rachster,

      Yes I am American, and our schools have just broke for our summer holiday….we will not be back until August when we will start the first semester of our new school year. This blog will continue at that time and will not be deleted….thanks for checking us out and please continue to do so. Take care.

  5. hey mr. mClung its been forevaz scince iv talked to ya .. im doing great how arew you im going to greenland now and im in high school
    anyways gotta do my work bye tata

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *