About two weeks ago my students and I began to discuss the role that propaganda played in WWII. Students learned that propaganda was very strategic type persuasion that helped rally the people of Germany behind Adolf Hitler and clearly identify the Jewish Population as an enemy. For this lesson students were asked to browse through the digital collection of propaganda on the US Holocaust Museum’s Website, then reproduce on piece of propaganda and write a short abstract about the their selection.

Every year I do this project I’m reminded of how much I really enjoy teaching it. To me all of the events that surround WWII are absolutely intriguing and among some of the most important in history. Usually once my students begin browsing through the galleries, tons of questions soon follow…it really is a eye opening moment for my students when they begin to really dig deep into WWII.

You can see a sampling of the finished work in the slideshow above…all of my students did really well on this project and after we are done with our propaganda posters we will be donating them to a local theater for display during a production of Anne Frank.

Mr. McClung

One thought on “Propaganda Projects”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *