joe-blogbannerAfter a lengthy break I will finally be returning to my full teaching load on Monday. For the past 6 weeks we have been fortunate enough to host Ms. Simonek as she completes her student teaching rotations; however, she wrapped up her first rotation in my classroom on Saturday and will now be moving on to the 9th grade to complete her second rotation.

In the time that she has been in charge of my classes, I’ve basically had a lot of time off…which was good in the sense that it allowed me to complete some homework of my own, but it has left me longing to actually teach again. Hopefully tomorrow I will be able to step back into my classroom without missing a beat…although I expect that will be easier said than done.

Mr. McClung

3 thoughts on “Just Like Riding a Bike”

  1. Sounds like you are recharged to return to teaching! It is always very nice to get a break to enjoy things we normally do not have time for. I am sure Ms. Simonek enjoyed her time with you and your class. Breaks sometime allow us to be recharged mentally for our return. Like the cliche’ goes you don’t know what you miss until it is gone.

  2. Hi Mr. McClung! I Just read the “Just Like Riding a Bike” post. I am a student in Dr. Strange’s EDM 31o class at The University of South Alabama. I can imagine that the way you feel is probably a bit unexpected? Who wouldn’t want someone in their classroom to take over while you kicked back and caught up on some work? As a future teacher, I imagine that this would seem like a dream come true! The way that you feel no is an encouragement to me. I hope that I have the same love and desire to teach that you seem to have, and also the same care for your class! I’m sure that they miss you too! Good luck with the rest of the school year!
    Mary Ashley York
    Twitter: @maryayork

  3. Hi Mr. McClung. My name is Justin Hyde and I am currently a student in Dr. Stange’s EDM310 course at the University of South Alabama. I love this post because I think everyone can relate to this. I was recently out of school for 10 days due to spring break and I was definitely ready to get back to school. It’s so hard when you lose your pace though and it feels like you have to get back in the swing of things all over again. It’s tough! Good thing summer is coming up, but come August I will have to learn to ride my bike all over again!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *