missouri-compromise-mapAs we continue to move forward with our study of Arkansas history, we now begin to enter the portion of history that deals with Arkansas becoming a territory. For the past two days we have discussed the boundaries that were established by the Missouri Compromise in regards to slavery in the US.


As explained in the video above by my2nd hours students, the Missouri compromise had three major components:

  • Missouri would enter the Union as a slave state.
  • Maine would enter as a free state, and any state entering the Union after this point as a slave state would have to enter with a free state in order to maintain balance.
  • All the land that was included in the Louisiana Purchase would be a free states, expect for Missouri.

The Missouri Compromise not only had a major impact on state boundaries but it also prolonged slavery in the US as well by allowing southern states to continue to own slaves.

Mr. McClung

4 thoughts on “The Missouri Compromise”

  1. Hi my name is Jacey-Blaire Chandler and I’m in Dr. Strange’s EDM 310 class at the University of South Alabama. Your students look like they had a lot of fun in their video. I like the idea of having students make a video with the facts. It seems they will remember them better because they’re engaged in the learning process.

  2. Hi, my name is Joshua Ragsdale and I am a student in Dr. Strange’s EDM 310 class at the University of South Alabama. I learned a lot about the Missouri Compromise last semester in an American history class. I am planning on being a history teacher one day. I enjoyed your video.

  3. Hi,
    My name is Lee Hughes, and I am a student in Dr. Strange’s EDM 310 class at the University of South Alabama. Great video, and great idea! Not only are the students learning, they are getting involved in the lesson and they are truly understanding the material. Great video!

  4. Hi,
    I am also a student at the University of South Alabama taking EDM 310 with Dr. Strange and I was assigned to read the Missouri Compromise post. I like that you had your students create this video instead of just giving them notes on the topic. This way they are engaged in learning and, from the looks of it, having fun as well. Keep up the good work, and thanks for sharing this!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *