Trail_of_tears_signYesterday in class we discussed the Trail of Tears and it’s relationship to Arkansas history. The Trial of Tears was the forced relocation of Native Americans during the early 1800’s. I challenged my students yesterday to create a Haiku using their newly found knowledge of the Trial of Tears, and here is what they gave me.

Indians were forced to move
To Oklahoma they moved
So sad, so very sad
– Katelin C.

Lost and left to fend
Indians lost family
Settlers don’t care
– Alex K.

Forced out of my home
For their own selfish wants
Been left with nothing.
– Nikki A.

Today we will continue out discussions about the Trail of Tears and early statehood in Arkansas.

Mr. McClung

4 thoughts on “Haikus and History”

  1. Hello! My name is Matthew Poirier and I am an EDM310 student in Dr. Strange’s class at the University of South Alabama. I’ve always liked Haikius, and these here are not exempt from my liking; because they’re so short, only the most key things need be said, which these students have done admirably. The thing about Haikus is that they’re short and to the point, leaving indelible and powerful messages in your mind. I’d like to write my own Haiku, in correspondence to the Trail of Tears as well:

    Many of them died
    During that unhappy walk
    Forced to relocate.

    Thank you for your post! Feel free to email me at mattpoirier531@gmail.com

  2. Hi Mr. McClung, my name is Ashley, I am in Dr. Strange’s EDM 310 class. As you can tell by now, we have been assigned to your blog post for our assignments. I have enjoyed looking over your posts and reading you and your student’s work. I was assigned to this particular post. I’m very impressed with the student’s Haiku poems. They were short but to the point. The student’s really described the Trail of Tears perfectly in a small amount of words. Thank you for letting us read your posts. I look forward to reading more for our assignments.

  3. Mr. McClung,

    It looks like I’m EDM310 student #3 to comment on this one.

    I think that the very humanity behind historical events is often skipped over in many history classes, and it’s rather unfortunate because it’s a major – if not the most important part of any such event. Placing students into a situation to where they can examine the event from an indigenous perspective is exactly what I plan to do also! Not only does it make the class more interesting and educational, but it also causes others to think in a way that they otherwise wouldn’t have, which they can apply to their daily lives.

  4. Hey Mr. McClung,

    My name is Brandon, and just like the students above me, I am a student is Dr. Strange’s EDM310 class!

    These Haikus were great! It seems that students not only understand what a haikus is and how to use it, but also the subject matter behind The Trail of Tears!

    I have really enjoyed all of your posts and I cannot wait to read more!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *