Lesson One – Spring Break

AirburshNothing says “I had an awesome spring break” like a cheesy airbursh shirt.

Today will be our last day at school before we are out for a full week for spring break. Many of our students have made plans to do fun and exciting things, I on the other hand will be spending all of my time in the fabulous vacation destination of Centerton, AR…where I will be working on my homework for grad school. Oh what fun.

Lesson Two – Talent Show

talentWoodland Student Council will be holding their annual talent show today. In the past we have had a wide variety of acts ranging from garage bands to dance acts. Today we will get the chance to see the talents of some of our best students on display and it should make for a great show. Videos to follow.

Lesson Three – 9:23

This week our track team attended their first meet of the season in Bentonville. Overall we had a pretty good showing as a team, but I would be re-missed if I didn’t acknowledge the performance of my distances runners for that evening.

  • Our 4x800m team of Jordan Pilkington, Luke Renner, Andrew Henry, and Ramsey Jones finished first with a time of 9:23.
  • Ramsey Jones finished 3rd overall in the 800m run with a time of 2:17 and 3rd overall in the mile with a time of 5:12.
  • Luke Renner finished 8th in the 800m run with a time of 2:22.
  • Patrick Ragan finished 20th overall in the mile with a personal best time of 5:44.

This was an excellent first meet for us as a team and we are only looking to get better and stronger as the season continues.

Lesson Four – March Madness

March-Madness-2011-Logo2The NCAA tournament has officially began and basketball talk has dominated conversations at school as well as at work-places all over the nation. Students and adults alike have been obsessed with their brackets and the potential success they may hold. So this weekend and next week I will be joining the millions of people enjoying the non-stop basketball coverage and watching my bracket ultimately fail.

Mr. McClung

9 thoughts on “Lessons Learned”

  1. Hey! I am a student in Dr. Strange’s EDM310 class at The University of South Alabama. I am commenting on “Lesson One – Spring Break.” Our college just had Spring Break last week. Although many of my friends took off to the beach, I went home to work on school work as well. I like to tell myself I will have a life again one day. I felt better once the work was complete knowing I did not procrastinate. I hope everyone has a safe and fun break!

  2. Hey! I am a student in Dr. Strange’s EDM 310 class at The University of South Alabama. I am commenting on “Lesson Four – March Madness.” Basketball is my favorite sport to watch, but I did not do a bracket. It is so funny to watch the people who get all worked up about their bracket. People also get disappointed when the team they choose to win loses. Although, my team Duke did not win; I am still interested to see who is going to come out on top.

  3. Hello there Mr. McClung!!
    My name is Tiffany Blanton and I attend the University of South Alabama. I am in EDM310 class under the instruction of Dr. Stange. In a moment I will be commenting on your post entitled Lesson Four: March Madness.
    Call me crazy but I do not watch basketball on televison. I would rather watch it in person. My husband on the other hand loves it! I hate to admit this but I really did not know what a braket was or maybe I just knew another term fcr it, who knows. I certainly know what it means now. Thanks for allowing me to learn something new!!

  4. Hello again,
    I see that I spelled something wrong and just had to correct myself. I misspelled the word bracket. I am truly sorry about that.

  5. Hey Mr.McClung and class!

    My name is AnnMerritt Taylor and I am commenting on Lesson Four: March Madness. I am a junior at the University of South Alabama, majoring in Secondary Education English/ Language arts. As you may have already assumed, I am currently taking Dr.Strange’s EDM 310 class.

    I cheered for basketball in Middle School and High School and really liked it then. I haven’t followed it much since I started college. I really love all sports, in person, but have a hard time following sports on television, except for college football. Up until my senior year, I had never filled out a bracket. My government teacher used to give us all kinds of just random, fun extra credit opportunities. He made copies of brackets and had us all fill them out in class. We all hung them up on the wall. Whoever picked right, or got closest, got 5 extra credit points.

    He said it was funny because his wife randomly picks teams because she likes the color of their uniforms and things like that and that she’d always beat him. Well he was right, the two girls who got the extra points, had no idea about basketball and just randomly picked, ha ha.

  6. Hi! I’m also a student in Dr. Strange’s EDM 310 class at the University of South Alabama. I would just like to congratulate the team that you discussed in your post titled “Lesson Three – 9:23”! I’m sure everyone has been working hard to get ready for the season and your hard work has definitely paid off. I never ran track in high school, but it is something that I always admired. The dedication and training that goes into being a successful runner and competitor is truly admirable. Again congratulations and good luck in your future meets!

  7. Hi Mr. McClung, I’m a student in Dr. Strange’s EDM 310 Class and I have been assigned to comment on Lesson Three- 9:23.
    That is a fantastic first meet of a season! Sounds like you have some strong middle distance runners there, I hope they can take it far. It looks like Ramsey and Patrick have stiff competition in the mile to really push them, I hope they can both make sub-five by the end of the season. Just remind them to pump those arms and that there is always something left for the kick!
    Nickolas Sullivan

  8. Mr. McClung and class,
    My name is Lara Bishop and I am an EDM 310 student and Dr, strange is my professor. I am a Junior at The University of South Alabama. I must be honest and say that I have no clue about track. I do know that it is a lot of hard work and an intense sport that requires major training. I am proud of your track team and just want to say stay focussed and keep up the good work.

  9. Hi I am a student at U.S.A. in Dr. Strange’s EDM 310 class. I am commenting on Lesson One – Spring Break. I like the shirt never had one like that. I hope you did have fun doing homework while I played games and went places with my family on my break. My friends and I played with a bon fire it was fun.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *