Benjamin Scott “Ben” Folds (born September 12, 1966) is an American singer-songwriter, musician, and the frontman and pianist of the alternative rock band Ben Folds Five in addition to performing as a solo artist and in collaboration with many other musicians such as William Shatner, Regina Spektor and “Weird Al” Yankovic. Ben also contributed to the soundtrack of the DreamWorks animated film Over the Hedge. You can hear the “Philosophy” from his solo work by clicking on the link below.

Mr. McClung

3 thoughts on “Ben Folds”

  1. Mr. McClung,

    My name is Gina Phillips and I am and EDM310 student at the University of South Alabama. Dr. Strange assigned me this blog to comment on for this week and I must admit, it is completely different from anything I have ever read on a blog. I didn’t really understand it either. After reading the lyrics and watching the video – I enjoyed it very much!

    I think of this in terms of my future educating children. I took the lyrics as a warning. I have a philosophy about teaching and I hope that I do not lose my “ideals” once I become a teacher!

    Thanks for the great blog!

  2. Mr. McClung, my name is Amanda and I am from the University of South Alabama’s EDM 310 class. I had to watch your video and read the lyrics several times along with your blog. Then I really began to understand the meaning that I think you were trying to convey to us. Don’t loose “you” and don’t let your philosophy of teaching change too much.

  3. Good afternoon Mr. McClung,

    My name is Maegan and I am a student in Dr. Strange’s EDM 310 class at the University of South Alabama. For starters, I’m going to get this out and say that I love Ben Folds Five and it was the last thing I expected today. With that being said, I have to say this is a great song with such a meaning behind it and I think everyone should just listen to the lyrics. I especially love the part when he says his philosophy holds him up, even when he’s falling down. That’s great, because if you can put that in terms of teaching, believing in something even when you feel like you’re failing, it’s inspirational. Thanks for this, Mr. McClung!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *